Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Barebones Beginner Basics?

I've literally only been drawing for a little over a month now; For the past fourteen years of my life I never attempted art because when I was ten I was diagnosed with Spatial Dysgraphia, and was told I would never be able to learn to draw. Then one day I decided that there was no point in letting anything beat me and decided to try and overcome it. I've been drawing almost every day for the past month, and have been told that I've been making very rapid progress. You can see the art I've put out here.

I've looked at tutorials and references and I know the best way to improve is to just keep practicing and never stop drawing, but I can't help but feel like there are some basics I haven't really grasped that I could. So I was wondering if anyone knew of absolute beginner tutorials? Anything I can do to improve would be great.

Weasyl
    Meii
    Don't ever give up just because you think you'll never be good enough, and always have fun with your art. That's probably the most important advice I can give you in terms of improving.

Also of course, don't be afraid to ask for critique c:

3.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #3

Weasyl
    Morphology
    Pretty much what Meii said.

As far as technical things go, a good fundamental set of elements to focus on are lines and shapes. Everything is made of lines and shapes. A tree can be a triangle with a line through it. A building is a series of boxes. You are spheres, cylinders, lines, and a whole bunch of other shapes. I find it extremely helpful if I draw the series of shapes that make up something, then go from there. Here's a good tutorial on Basic Shapes and Forms.