Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 109

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Computah Rigs

  1. #1

    Computah Rigs

    What's your hardware like?

    I recently got a new one to replace my four-year-old Alienware thing (which I spent way too much money at the time that I got it, bless teenage jobs and tons of disposable income). I still have two 1920x1080 monitors (Dells) and a surround sound setup from Logitech from that, but otherwise:

    - AMD FX-6100 (six-core processor ) CPU
    - Radeon HD 6950 2GB graphics card
    - 8 GB DDR3 1333 RAM

    And it's in a great Cooler Master case (the HAF 912) with a Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO cooler on the CPU since the stock one for the FX-6100 was letting it overheat.

    I spent about $750 on this new rig and it runs everything pretty well (I get 30 FPS almost solid on BF3 on Ultra and Skyrim gets a solid 40-45 on ultra settings with the HD textures).

  2. #2
    smell-good badger Pine's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Pine
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Trouser Snake, MT
    Posts
    142
    I have a decent setup for gaming I guess.

    -Intel Core i3 560
    -Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti graphics card
    -8GB RAM

    I have a few fans here and there as well, but nothing special. I am a Logitech fanboy though, so I have a lot of external hardware as well

    -G110 Keyboard
    -G9x Mouse
    -G13 Gamepad
    -G35 7.1 Headset
    -X530 5.1 Speakers

    all by Logitech

  3. #3
    Senior Brace's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Brace
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    142
    Current Build
    --------------------

    Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K, 3.4Ghz ~unlocked~
    RAM: 8GB Gskill Ripjaws series DDR3
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 Video Card - 1GB (x2)
    OS: Windows 7 / Linux Mint 11 dualboot
    SATA III Solid State Drive

    I have a couple of backup machines also, the most advanced one running an AMD X2 7850+ overclocked to 3.0Ghz with 4GB memory. It will play games if I put a decent video card in it so I'm happy with it too.

    I have a laptop that I've put serious work into also.

    Inspiron 1525
    ----------------
    Intel X3100 graphics
    4GB DDR2 667Mhz
    Core 2 Duo T7800, 2.6Ghz
    128GB SSD running Snow Leopard 10.6.8, Windows 7, and Linux Mint 12
    1TB 5200rpm HDD
    Wireless N card and Webcam
    Last edited by Brace; 07-26-2012 at 09:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Resident Khajiit Ibuuyk's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Ibuuyk
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Trois-Rivières, Québec
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,250
    Windows 7 Home Premium (French)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti GPU
    AMD Phenom II X6 1100T CPU
    Coolmax CL700B PSU
    4GB RAM
    1TB Seagate HDD

    Also, Corsair Gaming Speakers and one of dem fancy Dynex mouses with a button on each side that act as Previous/Next, pretty neat.

  5.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #5
    [Logic is Erratic] Taw's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Taw
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    821
    The setup I'm currently using is:

    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
    Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 3.16 GHz
    4GB DDR2 800 MHz RAM
    500 GB Hard Drive

    Keyboard is a Corsair K60 Vengeance (best keyboard I've ever used)
    Mouse is a Razer Deathadder 2500 dpi
    Headset is a Steelseries Siberia V2 headset in black

  6. #6
    Junior Oovie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    18
    The only things that stand out to me anymore in my case is my old i7 860 @ 3.8ghz (down from 4.0) and the now retired GTX 470 that I've never overclocked (never had to). Actually, what I'm really proud of is my Filco Majestouch 2 with Cherry MX brown switches. I can't even describe the delight from typing on a good mechanical keyboard, it's just something you have to experience for yourself! I've owned it for a couple years now, hope to get it some PBT keycaps one day and make it last forever...

  7. #7
    Regular oneandonly's Avatar
    Weasyl
    oneandonly
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Southern Illinois
    Posts
    94
    I recently bought a computer upgrade to replace my current PC:
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 (2.4 Ghz)
    2 GB RAM
    Some old 512 MB GFX card
    Windows 7 Ultimate (It's a wonder it was running with that much RAM...)
    1 TB Hard Drive
    That should have upped it to:
    AMD Phenom II X6 (2.7 Ghz)
    8 GB RAM
    1 TB Hard Drive
    Nice overclockable Asus MB
    And a nice 1GB Radeon GFX card

    But the motherboard came dead on arrival. Now I get to buy the more expensive one and wait another week. >.<
    Last edited by oneandonly; 07-27-2012 at 03:42 PM.

  8. #8
    Senior Brace's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Brace
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    142
    You can't just RMA the model of motherboard that was DOA?

  9. #9
    Yeah, if you bought a motherboard it should be covered under the manufacturer's warranty or something for at least a month, especially since motherboards are pretty notorious for being DOA. I consider myself extremely lucky that I both managed to get no parts as DOA for this rig and managed to put it together (the first time I've put a computer together, mind you) without fucking up anything major. >_<

  10. #10
    Regular oneandonly's Avatar
    Weasyl
    oneandonly
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Southern Illinois
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by Brace View Post
    You can't just RMA the model of motherboard that was DOA?
    Nope. That's what I get for buying used. Sent it back in to Amazon to get my money back though, the new motherboard is around 60 dollars more expensive.


    Quote Originally Posted by Kitten View Post
    I consider myself extremely lucky that I both managed to get no parts as DOA for this rig and managed to put it together (the first time I've put a computer together, mind you) without fucking up anything major. >_<
    Lol, I remember the first computer I built. It was a server built out of old parts. I'm really glad that it was my first, and not some new computer that if I messed up, I'd cry.
    Last edited by oneandonly; 07-27-2012 at 10:42 AM.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •