Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Learning to create

Learning to create

Hello all- to sum this all up in the first couple of lines. I want to learn how to draw!

All in all, I have always loved drawing. I used to draw a lot when i was young, i was never very talented, but i enjoyed doing so. however, as i got older i drew less and less,.... and now i kinda just do the odd doodles here and there.

One of the problems is, I have no idea what to draw.
    I lack inspiration. and even if i had it, im not really good at drawing anyway.

but it is something i want to do, and i enjoy it, even knowing the end results will never hang in a gallery

i watch youtube videos of learning how to draw, but in the end it jsut become copies of waht they are doing, and i want to learn how to put my own mind down on paper,..not others.

i use the draw something app every now and then, and while its simple, and the end results i end up with very basic, it still has been a good trigger in creating something out of my own mind fast and effortless. But, in the end you just end up getting the same words over and over again.

so what ive discovered is that for myself, it's the challenge from others to draw something i cant decide over myself, that works as a good trigger.

does something like that a "draw this challenge" group exist on this page, or on other art pages?

2.   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #2
    Weasyl
    Noxid
    I can't think of anything specific here off the top of my head. Someone tried to do a palette challenge thread with the idea to use swatches from http://www.colourlovers.com/ with maybe some sort of theme, but the thread didn't really take off. There's also seasonal things people do like Inktober and cat month. And I've seen a few 100-theme challenges go by in my time browsing.