Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Art shaming

Weasyl
    Mythil

Art shaming

Well I'm no artist, I've been trying for over 15 years but I never got any better so, well I just stopped. So I pretty much support anything keeps going despite their level of skill.

There does seem to be a culture of art shaming in the community, not a big one but still. I am happy with a person creating something, making something they feel proud of despite their level of skill. Some people will feel very happy with work that will never sell and some aren't happy with work that could by hung in a gallery.

Have you ever had people put you down because your art isn't up to their standard?

How do you feel about people who just create?
    "You catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar"
    I'm a vegan I don't eat honey.

Need any help with martial arts stuff or 20th century cartoons/samurai cinema and gangster films?

My feeling is by and large to draw however and whatever you want. I've seen heavily stylized items (Ashley Wood, for example) that you have to either naturally like or learn to tolerate, but it's hard for me to say many artists are genuinely bad. Not gifted in some areas (god, David Finch needs to work on his faces), but not horrible overall.

It's been a long time since anyone gave negative remarks to my drawings, but nowadays, I'm inclined to not give much of a damn. I draw whacky nonsense that makes you want to puke? Yeah, I don't care, I draw as I want to.
    Sega does what Nintendon't.

Weasyl
    Vae
    The way I see "art shaming" is that not everyone will like what you do.
    Some people will even outright tell you that.
    And that is completely okay.