Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #1
    Weasyl
    RedSavage

Your take on "Watch Spamming"

I think it's fair to say we know the type.

You're browsing along, and then BAM. A new watcher. You go the account profile, and the user has been on all of 10 days, and has something around 800 or so watchers. Their profile is spammed with THANK YOU FOR THE WATCH and other like minded sentiments, not even spaced but hours or even minutes apart. And then on the other hand, you find out that said user has about a hundred tor so watchers. A high number for someone who had been on for just ten days.

What's your take on this technique of audience phishing? Fave-spamming is a similar vein.

My take on it is that I always feel slightly insulted. As a writer, I know it takes time to read and even know a piece. a special scenario is that of receiving a fave on a chapter piece about thirty seconds after I uploaded it. It's obvious that my work hasn't been read, the fave/wtach is a useless gesture meant to hook me into their page, and well my word choice should be sufficient to explain my feelings on it.

2.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #2
    Watchers and views are worthless numbers that aren't worth fretting over, with favs not far behind. The only worthwhile number imo is how many legitimate comments a person gets. I hook people into my page by just being a decent, engaging person, something that escapes a lot of people regardless of what website you use.

And the people thanking the watch spammer are just as bad with their "thank you" spam.

3.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #3

Weasyl
    Fayv
    I rather hate the "watch culture" for art sites.