Register

Weasyl
    Morphology

Tutorial: Basic Molding and Resin Casting

I have been using silicone molds and resin casting for about two years now, and I have found it to be a great way to make durable and reproducible pieces for art. So here's a few tips and tricks which will help you get started on casting while hopefully limiting errors and wasting resources.

Making the Master - First thing you are going to need for casting is a master sculpt. You can use a pre-existing model, such as a toy or sculpture, or you can make your own using clay. If you're going to make a clay sculpt, make sure to use a sulfur-free clay. If the sculpt contains sulfur, it will react with the silicone and prevent it from curing, and you'll have a sticky mess to deal with. For clays I highly recommend regular sculpey, plasteline clay, or a wax-based clay that can be reused. DO NOT USE POTTER'S CLAY. That contains sulfur.

Other things that play well with silicone:
    -resin and most plastics
    -plaster
    -metal
    -most natural materials (bone, rock) provided you can tell they are sulfur-free.

Things that don't play well from my experience:
    -Wood- maybe it's my bad luck, but most wood I've tried to cast has resulted in a mess.
    -Silicone - silicone sticks to itself, so you need lots of release agent. If you can, avoid silicone on silicone.

Here's an example of a master sculpt I made for my wasp mask.

The collar around the sculpt is to give a lip to the mold, allowing it to catch extra resin during casting and help stabilize the mold. The squares in the collar are keys. Keys ensure a snug fit for your mold so the castings are consistent.