Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Anonymity and Site Staff

1.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #1

Weasyl
    Fayv

Anonymity and Site Staff

I want to make it clear that this is purely for discussion and I'm not representing the staff in any way. At this point in time there are no plans for staff anonymity on Weasyl

So I wanted to have a discussion about website admins and moderators working anonymously or under false names. I was curious to see how you guys feel. Please keep the conversation civil and avoid bashing anyone or other sites.

For my part I don't think it's a problem as long as you're not using it to hide anything unsavory. For instance when I was an FA admin ages ago, I asked to make a separate account to do my job. I didn't want admin work mixing with commission work, for instance in the past I've had users come into an art stream I'm doing and complain about a warning they got on the site I was moderating, even though I wasn't the one to work on the ticket. Again in a stream another moderator popped in, I asked how things were going, they blithely mentioned they'd been dealing with some cranky users that didn't like some ticket action, I said that sucked. No names, no way to tell who it was. Said users later came in to yell about it and finally dragging me away from the stream to address their original complaints about the ticket. Less dramatically, you get a lot of notes and messages as a moderator, people don't separate you from the site. It happens, nothing you can really do to stop it, but at the time I simply wanted to keep that sort of thing away from my work.