Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Recent Downtime

  1. #11
    Toshabi Pronouns Only Toshabi's Avatar

    Weasyl
    Toshabi
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Gender
    Croc
    Posts
    962
    Good work Batman and staff.

  2. #12
    Premium User QT Melon's Avatar


    Weasyl
    QTMelon
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    1,478
    Quote Originally Posted by yokare View Post
    the site still isn't working for me. i flushed my dns cache several times and restarted my computer as well, but no luck.

    i waited for a bit since i figured it'd just take some time but it's an hour and a half since the site was reported to be back up and it still isn't connecting, it just times out eventually.

    sorry to be a bother, but i'm not sure if this is something to do with me or the servers.
    Some ISPs engage in the practice of DNS caching as well so don't feel bad.
    I used to have this issue a lot with certain providers.

    Thank you for the updates, it is very appreciated.

  3. #13
    Premium User Runefox's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Runefox
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    481
    Quote Originally Posted by yokare View Post
    the site still isn't working for me. i flushed my dns cache several times and restarted my computer as well, but no luck.

    i waited for a bit since i figured it'd just take some time but it's an hour and a half since the site was reported to be back up and it still isn't connecting, it just times out eventually.

    sorry to be a bother, but i'm not sure if this is something to do with me or the servers.
    As QT pointed out, some ISP's use DNS caching to reduce load on their end. You might try using Google's public DNS and see if that works for you. Otherwise, it should resolve itself when your provider's cache expires, though when that is could be as short as a few minutes to hours or days, depending on how aggressive it is.

    Personally, I use Google DNS regardless, since it's more reliable and generally faster than my ISP's DNS servers.

  4. #14
    Junior yokare's Avatar
    Weasyl
    yokare
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8
    thank you so much! i switched to google's public DNS and everything works fine now.

    much appreciated!!

  5. #15
    I've done all the things mentioned with the exception of the Public DNS (not my computer).
    The site is still not working for me. So, is the site still down or is there more I should try?

  6. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by WickedGypsy View Post
    I've done all the things mentioned with the exception of the Public DNS (not my computer).
    The site is still not working for me. So, is the site still down or is there more I should try?
    The site is technically online, however you will just have to wait I'm afraid.

    (You could try running "ipconfig -flushdns" in command prompt but that will probably not help much.)

  7. #17
    Premium User Runefox's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Runefox
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    481
    Quote Originally Posted by WickedGypsy View Post
    I've done all the things mentioned with the exception of the Public DNS (not my computer).
    The site is still not working for me. So, is the site still down or is there more I should try?
    Well, aside from switching to public DNS or switching to a different network, it's a waiting game unfortunately. DNS record changes (which occurred as a result of the DDoS) can take up to 48 hours to go out over every ISP out there, since a lot of them cache DNS pretty aggressively.

  8. #18
    Insert Witty Comment Here AndiGreyScale's Avatar
    Weasyl
    AndiGreyScale
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colorado
    Gender
    Caramel Frappe
    Posts
    134
    Thanks for the hard work folks!

  9. #19
    Premium User QT Melon's Avatar


    Weasyl
    QTMelon
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    1,478
    Thank you so much for your work!


  10. #20
    Seems like those on Virgin Media in the UK are able to connect by doing the DNS change method stated above. If you can't do this, they should probably have updated their own records by tomorrow morning which should resolve any issues still ongoing.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •