Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1. #11
    Resident Khajiit Ibuuyk's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Ibuuyk
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Trois-Rivières, Québec
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,250
    Nope nope nope nope nope, don't ever ever buy Ibuypower. That's possibly one of the worst manufacturer ever, according to many, many reviews I've read when I myself was shopping for a new desktop (my old one was cursed and/or possessed by something malevolent). They don't sell (relatively) cheap for nothing, their stuff sometimes comes with assemblage faults, defect mobos, missing and/or badly screwed screws, damaged and/or used cases and shit like that and their customer support will just say it's your or the shipping company's fault and deny everything.

    Also, if your monitor can run 1920x1080 in 1080p, heck keep it it's awesome!

  2. #12
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    Honestly when I first bought the PC as far as I can remember it ran pretty good, but at the time I wasn't playing World of Warcraft on it. More like Free to play Games like Perfect World and Jade Dynasty as well as SecondLife and Sims 3. When I first bought the PC Sims3 played very well, not it's super laggy and glitchy looking when I haven't messed with the original settings I played it on.

    Hope this answers your questions Thanks for the Help as well Onnes!

  3. #13
    Solifugid Onnes's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Onnes
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    321
    The easiest thing for you to do would probably be to find the record of your purchase and see what video option is listed. It may also have a more descriptive model code, although I'm not sure where exactly that would be located other than with the purchase information and possibly on the case somewhere with the windows license and other codes.

  4. #14
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Ibuuyk View Post
    Nope nope nope nope nope, don't ever ever buy Ibuypower. That's possibly one of the worst manufacturer ever, according to many, many reviews I've read when I myself was shopping for a new desktop (my old one was cursed and/or possessed by something malevolent). They don't sell (relatively) cheap for nothing, their stuff sometimes comes with assemblage faults, defect mobos, missing and/or badly screwed screws, damaged and/or used cases and shit like that and their customer support will just say it's your or the shipping company's fault and deny everything.

    Also, if your monitor can run 1920x1080 in 1080p, heck keep it it's awesome!

    O_O Wow. Well Thanks a lot for that. Of course I would have looked into the actual company before I bought...was just simply going off the specks I suppose. So..for the sake of this Thread...would those specks be good on a different manufacture?

  5. #15
    Just to clear up the graphics issue... go here, this is a small program a couple of MB and free: http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

    just download it, it's just an EXE, run it, then take a screenshot of what it says, stick it on some free image site (www.imgur.com is the easiest, drag and drop!) and then link it to us here.

  6. #16
    Resident Khajiit Ibuuyk's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Ibuuyk
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Trois-Rivières, Québec
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,250
    Erm, the CPU on that build isn't so good. I'd suggest spending an extra 100-200$ to get at least a i5-3570K (though a i7-3770K would be perfect)

    In fact, this computer would be absolutely perfect: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883258013 (though this one is 110$ cheaper and is still pretty good, it'd only last one less year than the more expensive one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883258008)
    Last edited by Ibuuyk; 03-09-2013 at 10:06 AM.

  7. #17
    The way I'm interpreting this is that the computer may well have a graphics card inside it and it's no longer being chosen/recognized.

    Are you able to open it and look? (With it off and you taking anti-static precautions so you don't blow up). The graphics card should probably be pretty obvious if there is one. (Ie, not RAM, and not the motherboard).

    It's a 6 core CPU with a decent amount of power so it should handle games at reasonable quality without issue. I'm on an AMD Athlon II X2 P340 2.2GHz (Less than a third of the power) and I get 16fps on the lowest setting on GW2, so it's not to blame.
    Last edited by Nightpaws; 03-09-2013 at 11:15 AM.

  8. #18
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    Last edited by Shiko; 03-09-2013 at 12:44 PM.

  9. #19
    Solifugid Onnes's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Onnes
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    321
    Well, assuming there is no actual video card in there lurking undetected, the first thing you should do is update your drivers. I think AMD separates their chipset and GPU drivers these days.
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...windows.aspx#2
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...to_detect.aspx

  10. #20
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Onnes View Post
    Well, assuming there is no actual video card in there lurking undetected, the first thing you should do is update your drivers. I think AMD separates their chipset and GPU drivers these days.
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...windows.aspx#2
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...to_detect.aspx

    Thanks Onnes. Seems I always forget how to go about Updating things within the computer itself. I have been updating my drivers and I am down to 3 updates out of the 9 that I had. My Graphics card was last updated in 2006 so I can only assume it was a rather old Graphics Card. Hopefully all this will fix some of my problems I have been having for a good 6 Months.


    The Second Link you posted the AMD Auto Detect did end up detecting a better driver for my PC. As far as your first Link should I as well install all those?

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •