Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30

    Want to see if Anyone can Help??

    Alright. So I bought my PC a little over a year ago. But I have noticed that since then... my computer hasn't been the same. For example. I bought Guild Wars 2, was extremely excited about playing the game; I get into the game and I'm lagging so bad I had to stop. I went back into the game and put everything that pertains to graphics all the way down and I was still only getting about 6 fps.

    I am personally thinking that I may need a New Processor. Mine was only a Dual to begin with, but it served me well for awhile. Then about 2 weeks later I load an update for World of Warcraft and I press "play" on the launcher and it said something similar to "your graphics card is out of date, are you sure you want to proceed?"

    Now this bothers me. I know my PC wasn't top notch. I actually was planning on building my computer from newegg.com and had all the parts picked out, but finances stopped that quickly. So I guess what I am wanting to know... is How do I figure out what Processor and Graphics card my Tower can hold? How do I figure out of the Card and processor are compatible? and at this point...would it just be better to get a whole new tower?

    (I as well know I may have to get a bigger power supply as I'm currently only running on a 350)


    On a Side Note: Could my issue be caused by something other than what I stated?

  2. #2
    What sort of hardware are you running on just now?

  3. #3
    Resident Khajiit Ibuuyk's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Ibuuyk
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Trois-Rivières, Québec
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,250
    Look up your motherboard, that way you'll know what GPU/CPU/PSU/WhatevU it's compatible with.

  4. #4
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    @Nightpaws

    I simply looked up my DxDiag
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 2/8/2013, 15:33:07
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
    System Model: CM1730/CM1830
    BIOS: BIOS Date: 04/13/11 16:46:35 Ver: 04.01
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1065T Processor (6 CPUs), ~2.9GHz
    Memory: 8192MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 7936MB RAM
    Page File: 4024MB used, 11843MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: AMD 760G
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x9616)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9616&SUBSYS_83881043&REV_00
    Display Memory: 3064 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 252 MB
    Shared Memory: 2811 MB
    Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor Name: HP 2311 Series Wide LCD Monitor
    Monitor Model: HP 2311
    Monitor Id: HWP2939
    Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)


    &&& @Ibuuyk

    I honestly completely forgot how to look those things up. :[ But thank you for letting me know how to check to see what can or could be compatable.

  5. #5
    From some googling, the only thing there that seems to be a bit naff is the AMD 760G graphics chipset. From my limited knowledge of hardware, that's onboard graphics, and no matter how hard you try to flog them, onboard graphics can't do games.

    Do you have another graphics card installed? Because from the look of that, if you do, it's not being used.


    (I may be completely wrong, the last time I did any hardware work I was building a business use HP computer with 256MB RAM and a floppy drive)

  6. #6
    Resident Khajiit Ibuuyk's Avatar


    Weasyl
    Ibuuyk
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Trois-Rivières, Québec
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,250
    Yeeeaaah, the GPU should be changed. So should the CPU (if you wanna play modern games on the highest settings, that is. You could still play 'em in low-medium if you changed only the GPU). The RAM is more than enough, and you should download Slimdrivers Lite and update your drivers.

    Your mobo should be fine for any CPU you might get, as it can handle AM3. But the real question is, how big is your case? Is it standard or one of those mini/micro all-in-one thingies that you can't upgrade without swearing and gasping for air and/or space?

    EDIT: Wait no nvm, the mobo is a bit old and you might not be able to have a decent GPU on it.

    My verdict is you should get a new computer altogether if you don't know how to install a motherboard, since it'd save you time and maybe even money since you need a new... everything. Plus mobos are annoying to change and you'd have to do a backup, reinstall Windows, etc etc. If you pay 150$ for a mobo, 250$ for a CPU, 150$ for a GPU, around 100-200$ for a new Windows (unless you surf the seven seas) (btw my prices are if you buy good enough parts to last at least 3-4 years without needing to upgrade) and over 100$ in installation fees if you don't do it yourself, excluding the backup. For around 1000-1200$ you could get a pretty damn good computer all ready for ya, no hassle or part shopping and dealing with the shippings and taxes and everything.
    Last edited by Ibuuyk; 03-08-2013 at 10:26 PM.

  7. #7
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    Thank you both so much for all the help. As I said before I know a little about Computers...enough to know when im being ripped off and have general knowledge of what each piece does but that is about it. and quite honestly I felt it would have to come to me buying a new computer. Could there be a chance I would have to replace my Monitor as well? I don't know how much a monitor plays into the looks and feel Ect. My tower isn't a mini. But it's not super huge either. Honestly I don't even think it could fit a power supply bigger than what it already has (350W) Might be able to fit a 500W but not too sure.

    As far as what I need isn't something completely off the wall. Although it seems to building a gaming monster would be less expensive in the long run as the parts would stay good for many years. My mate's dad has a friend who builds computers so we are going to talk to him shortly about all this. He was the one who had helped me select my build I had in mind. My Mate wants to just simply buy a computer for me so we won't have to go through this again..if for some reason we can't get the finances I was looking at this particular tower http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883227436

    I looked up some reviews on it and it seems that the graphics card would INDEED be way better than what I have now as most say you can easily run 30Fps on High or Medium...right now I have to Play World of Warcraft on Low cause even if I switch to Fair it gets extremely laggy. A lot of people though say this graphics card in that tower (above) is bad, but I have to look at power saving as well since I don't pay the electric bills.


    --As far as what I do on the PC though..all I really do is browse the web, do graphics design, digital art and Game. The games I play are like Sims 3 and World of Warcraft...would play Guild Wars2 ... but alas I can't seem to play it (Not even sure if that tower I linked would play it) and I am wanting to play Elder Scrolls online when it comes out.

    Once again Thank you for all your help. If you could possibly link me to your own personal ideas of if that tower is good enough to last..or if I should just attempt to build a computer from the ground up.

  8. #8
    Solifugid Onnes's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Onnes
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    321
    It seems odd that that system wouldn't have a video card given its other specs. You don't happen to have any sort of records from when you purchased it, do you?

  9. #9
    Regular Shiko's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Shiko
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    30
    @Onnes It probably does have One. I didn't post the entire DxDiag Not unless you don't see it in the Area it should be?

    Here is the Rest of the Display Device Mumbo Jumbp

    Monitor Model: HP 2311
    Monitor Id: HWP2939
    Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
    Output Type: DVI
    Driver Name: atiu9p64 aticfx64 atiu9pag aticfx32 atiumd64 atidxx64 atiumdag atidxx32 atiumdva atiumd6a atitmm64
    Driver File Version: ()
    Driver Version: 8.710.0.0
    DDI Version: 10
    Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: , 0 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: No
    WHQL Date Stamp: None
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D556-11CF-2064-89A3A1C2C535}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x9616
    SubSys ID: 0x83881043
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Driver Strong Name: oem6.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_RS780:8.710. 0.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_9616
    Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
    DXVA-HD: Not Supported
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled

  10. #10
    Solifugid Onnes's Avatar
    Weasyl
    Onnes
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    321
    Well, what you initially posted says it's running off a relatively dated GPU integrated on the motherboard, which is going to be pretty useless for gaming and graphical design. What I'm wondering is whether or not a real card might be present but undetected or disabled.

    Did this system originally perform better in games, or has it always been like this?

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •