Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What to do when college isn't quite right?

Hello there everyone, I'm posting this thread because I've been faced with a rather perplexing issue for quite a while now, and after having spoken to everyone in my personal life about it I figured I'd reach out to the internet for advice.

I am a full time college student and I have been one for three and a half years now. I'm in my junior year, and I am an IT major. These years have not been entirely kind to me in terms of my education, my marks aren't what they were when I was in high school, and I find myself caught in a frustrating and somewhat odd situation.

My college is based around the quarter system instead of the semester system which is something that has worked for the college for about 80 years. However, my college decided that it was time to get rid of the quarter system, and is doing a switch to the semester system this year. This mass switch is pushing everyone in the IT program back at least another full year.

So here's my issue: I'm tired of school. I am to the point where every quarter I withdraw from all of my classes except for two - I should be taking at least four to continue at the pace that I am attempting to go at. This level of "tired" is because of a mixture of things, the main one being how much I dislike school and the majors offered. I have found a deep and profound passion in sewing, crafting, and mainly costume making. Where I would love to be searching for internships at theatre troupes, I am forced to sell myself as an "IT guy".