PDA

View Full Version : [SITE] "Compose" function givng me an error



GingerM
10-08-2012, 03:46 PM
I went to post a story, and decided to try the Compose function so I wouldn't have to use a text file marked up with bbcode. I was able to type in text, name it, save it and so on; then it took me to the submission details screen, and I filled in all the bits I needed to, including a link to a cover art pic, tagged it, etc.

But, when I clicked on "Continue" from that point, I got the "Whoops! An unexpected error occured and your request could not be fully processed" error message. I can, however, upload the text file as a literary submission, give it a cover image, tag it etc. and have it appear in my gallery without trouble.

Matt
10-09-2012, 05:17 PM
I had a similar issue last night when I tried uploading a story with an unnecessary amount of formatting. I figured it was because I was straining the composer, so I tried again today with something basic. I think the errors came down to my pasting work from Microsoft Word. Pasting from an .rtf in Wordpad seemed to work fine. I don't know how much information would be helpful, so I'm supplying screenshots just in case.

Pasted this from Word. Seems fine.

http://gyazo.com/b01ec1d98bb003550fe18feeee2a240c.png?1349814885

But when I pressed Create New, it seemed to reformat itself.

http://gyazo.com/4937d8a77099b1930e7900fc2cb2b19d.png?1349815023

I tried powering through.

http://gyazo.com/9d63fb05e0df2b43d171620fa554ec2c.png?1349815122

But thenFUCK

http://gyazo.com/7101240cca5611afc3e664bf90cd52ef.png?1349815135

So yeah, not so much the formatting. But I tried pasting from Wordpad the same story that I tried pasting from Word last night.

No reformatting,

http://gyazo.com/88eb18fa79f4d3102fc3fe33dd6fd117.png?1349816063

no trouble,

http://gyazo.com/bc01cc63576dbce515f96e284de3f49a.png?1349816161

and no error message

http://gyazo.com/7a3f4368f6409c35d6959de74308a428.png?1349816331

Unfortunately there's still a bit of an issue that it seems like the Tab key doesn't function in the composer, and pasting from WordPad erases the indents that were already there. It's probably not a huge deal generally, but it makes the thing I wrote less comprehensible. I need all the help I can get.

Kihari
10-09-2012, 07:16 PM
Could both of you please send the Word (or whatever) files from which you tried to paste these to weasyl.sysop@gmail.com ? Thanks for reporting

GingerM
10-09-2012, 07:45 PM
Could both of you please send the Word (or whatever) files from which you tried to paste these to weasyl.sysop@gmail.com ? Thanks for reporting

I was actually cutting and pasting from the story's post on SoFurry; here's the link: http://www.sofurry.com/view/334981. I just grabbed the entire text, formatting and all, and pasted it.

Kihari
10-09-2012, 08:26 PM
I was actually cutting and pasting from the story's post on SoFurry

Thank you. I did the same and replicated the issue and applied a fix. If there are any compositions currently saved that you wish to submit, you will need to do the following:

Go to your compositions
Load the composition you want to submit
Press "Save Progress"

You should then be able to do so; if not, please post here or at weasyl.sysop@gmail.com with the submission's source or file (I was able to successfully submit a paste from what you provided, other cases may be unique however). Thank you both for reporting

Matt
10-09-2012, 09:10 PM
I forwarded along my Word Doc. At the moment, I'm still getting errors upon upload and this kind of formatting when I paste and save progress:

http://gyazo.com/b115d291a7a5f32ec754d0a0d94fb0a8.png?1349830743

skylerbunny
01-05-2014, 12:22 PM
'Compose' is retired, and the way literary submissions works has now changed. Closing this thread as resolved for that reason.

Thanks!