PDA

View Full Version : Hi Everyone, making a Weasyl app for Ubutnu Touch. Wanna Help?

MkLXIV
03-10-2014, 09:27 PM
Heya, while I'm just getting started with this crazy little project of mine, I am making a Weasyl client for Ubuntu Touch. For those of you who don't know, Ubuntu Touch is a smartphone operating system scheduled for release on phones early next year- it is currently in Beta, and I have a compatible device. I thought I'd come here to the Technology forum to find people interested in my project. So far, I've got the required tools- now, I'm looking to the community to help make the app with me! ;)

Here are ways you can help (You'll get credit for everything you do):

Artwork Permissions: Let me use thumbnails/images of your work (your picks which ones) for use in the app's screenshots. Easiest way to help, if you don't know how to code! ^^;

UI Mockups: Rough sketches of layouts for the app. Artistic ability helps a bit here!

Code Snippets: Helpful pieces of code from more experienced programmers than myself- keep it QML please, trying to go for platform-independence.

Feature Suggestions: Need I say more?

So... let the fun begin!!!

Runefox
03-11-2014, 02:32 PM
Hmm, I'd personally prefer an iOS/Android app first since I've not got any Ubuntu Touch-enabled devices, but I like the idea; It would reduce the amount of time needed to get into and browse Weasyl, along with the amount of data (currently, the Weasyl mobile CSS still loads the maximum number of images visible on the main page).

Anyway, I actually have a couple mockups I could use from suggestions on how the mobile layout should be changed, so that would be a nice starting point. I don't know what the design paradigms of Ubuntu Touch will be, however. For now, here's my feature wishlist: