PDA

View Full Version : Painty artwork type thingy!

BlissfulOblivion
02-08-2014, 06:32 PM
Sssssssssssooooooo I decided that since I'm still kinda new to digital art but I think I finally have a handle on the basics I should go through and test out every shading and painting technique set and style I can find just to see what works for me, what I'm good at, and just to get a better sense of art in general. So. My idea is to make a single piece but paint it in all the different ways. Cuz that's easier than making a hundred different paintings and it's a good way to compare the quality and style and see which I like best or better or whatever.
So. Before I get to the painting parts, on which I will also want critiques, I'd like to make sure I have good base anatomy. Here's what I have so far:

http://i.imgur.com/T83iL4U.jpg

Is there anything I'm doing wrong that I haven't caught?

Sammacha
02-08-2014, 07:23 PM
the first thing i notice is the face, the face isn't the correct shape, the head is very circular and the nose very square and the way its attached looks very awkward.
I think you should look at animal faces to get a better idea of this position

BlissfulOblivion
02-08-2014, 09:29 PM
the first thing i notice is the face, the face isn't the correct shape, the head is very circular and the nose very square and the way its attached looks very awkward.
I think you should look at animal faces to get a better idea of this position

Mmkay. I knew there was stuff off with the head and face, but I keep forgetting to use refs ; o ; Thank you!

--edit--
Mmkay I think what I did is I made the head too tall? I'mma try again and see if that helps at all ;c

BlissfulOblivion
02-08-2014, 11:55 PM
Jkjkjkjkjkjkkkj I made the same supid mistake uhm ill repost the pic once i have it better or something sorry aguhhfahsodifhaposhdpgoaje

Mmmmmkay I tried more and I think this time I at least made something different even if it's not right ; o ;

http://i.imgur.com/Czen7kx.jpg