PDA

View Full Version : The Way of the Martial Arts (Martial Philosophy)

irick
01-29-2014, 07:36 AM
I have been a martial artist ever since I can remember. It has always fascinated me and it has always been an intimate part of my personal culture. The first form I learned i entered when I was six or seven at a local community center in Atlanta Georgia. It was a Korean art called Tang Soo Do: Way of the Chinese Fist.

At my young age I did not gain much insight into the principles or philosophies that guided the development of the art, nor did I know the history of the style or its influences. These sort of questions would later fascinate me, but in the moment as a child I took three things away from my experience: The concept of respect, the concept of brotherhood and finally the Big Head mode cheat in N64 GoldenEye 007.

I never did well with public school, later on in life I would be diagnosed with a developmental disorder (PDD-NOS/ADHD). As far as I am concerned this diagnosis represents more the sad state of public schooling at the time rather than any serious handycap on my part. I learned differently, and that grinds the teachers who feel nothing for their art enough to complain. As a result, I was always an outcast, especially as I started to excel in classes despite my 'problems with a classroom environment'. The kids and the teachers rarely were interested in the subjects, so my willingness to learn seemed to throw me into a more and more lonely niche. I do note that there were notable exceptions, but in general this was the rule.

This was never the case in the dojo. The people there were there to learn and the teachers were passionate about their art. This made all of the difference when I was growing up. My peers were martial artists, we had mutual respect and comradely. I remained a member of that Tang Soo Doo dojo until the day we moved. Though I did not realize it at the time, I had started to understand the Way.