PDA

View Full Version : Sewing Machine Suggestions?

Demu
08-08-2012, 08:01 PM
Hey there!

I was wondering if any of you could possibly suggest a good sewing machine? I'd like to invest in a proper machine that'll last me awhile and is easily programmable. I'm not really experienced with them so please share your knowledge! I'd truly appreciate it. <3

Oh! And would an industrial sewing machine be better than a normal home one? We'll be working with minky, faux fur, and regular materials like polyester, fleece, and other common fabrics.

BudgieBin
08-08-2012, 08:18 PM
What exactly are you trying to do?

Singer brand is something I'd consider "go-to", but I've heard that Brother makes good machines too. Do you need embroidery/pattern capability, or do you just want an old fashioned manual?

Industrial is almost always better in every case I've ever experienced, but if you buy a good quality "home" machine and take good care of it (periodic greasing, retiming etc) then it should last you a good long while.

Theresa
08-08-2012, 10:42 PM
Not to pry, but what's your budget? If there's a specific price range you have, it'll be easier to suggest good machines that fit your needs.

Demu
08-09-2012, 01:55 AM
Budget is around $300 USD or so. :> But it's a flexible budget.

- - - Updated - - -

What exactly are you trying to do?

Singer brand is something I'd consider "go-to", but I've heard that Brother makes good machines too. Do you need embroidery/pattern capability, or do you just want an old fashioned manual?

Industrial is almost always better in every case I've ever experienced, but if you buy a good quality "home" machine and take good care of it (periodic greasing, retiming etc) then it should last you a good long while.

Embroidery would be a plus. But it isn't necessary. Patterns are good too of course!

And hmm.. industrial seems to be SOMEWHAT out of our budget, but we're considering it.

Viergacht
11-07-2012, 12:21 AM