PDA

View Full Version : Userpage layout critique/discussion

Nyomi
02-15-2013, 08:54 PM
One of the first things I noticed and continue to regularly notice about Weasyl is how its userpage layouts differ from many other sites, which is good and bad. Weasyl certainly distinguishes itself, but I feel like eschewing the usual "art site" layout has some consequences that the site may want to address as it continues to develop. I'm hoping bringing up the issues I've noticed can spur some discussion on them.

I am an artist myself and my commission work is a significant part of my income, so I will be looking at the site from that perspective.

Praise
I like the ability to customize one's page with a banner - this is something other art sites have lacked that I feel really helps an artist make their space theirs while still participating in a community. The row of thumbs at the top does a lot to showcase recent work even before scrolling down, so that's also good. I also think features like "Collections" and "Characters" are very good ideas and so far they appear to be well-executed. Having status on commissions, trades, etc. listed in the top of the page is smart and saves space in the profile, where many people put it on FA.

Critique